FAQs

Home/FAQs
FAQs 2017-09-12T13:58:42+00:00
What do I need to do to prepare for a successful RV inspection? 2016-07-28T19:57:50+00:00

The best conditions for an inspection include ALL of the following:

  1. The RV should be connected to water, electric, and sewer utilities and the refrigerator turned on at least 12 hours before the inspection.
  2. The on-demand water tank should contain approximately 1/3 or more of water.
  3. The owner should remove all non-RV specific items from walkways and around the RV for easy access of all inspection items.
  4. All owner and appliance manuals and keys should be made available to the inspector.
  5. The owner/seller should be present at the start of the inspection, and if possible, remain available throughout the inspection.
  6. The pre-inspection agreement and payment must be made BEFORE the inspector arrives at the inspection.

Refer to the RV Inspection Client Requirements

How do I keep the dealer from selling the RV while i get it inspected? 2016-07-24T08:43:58+00:00

It is possible to sign a pre-purchase agreement with the seller that makes the purchase contingent upon inspection and financing. It is highly recommended that you consult with a lawyer when initiating a contract.

Will you tell me if I should buy the RV or not? 2017-04-17T22:15:34+00:00

MY RV Inspections provides a third party, unbiased inspection of the RV and only provides a final report highlighting the life safety, major, and minor issues identified with the inspection. With the inspection in hand, the buyer may then:

  • Negotiate a price with the seller based on issues identified in the inspection
  • Negotiate with the seller what items should be repaired before the vehicle is purchased
  • Have the item further examined by a certified RV technician to determine whether repair is even necessary, or
    find another RV to purchase

We do not provide an opinion on the value of the RV or help in any of the negotiations.

Why do I need an independent RV inspection? 2016-07-24T08:43:45+00:00

The inspection provides an independent and unbiased assessment of the current operating condition of the RV you are planning to purchase. If everything is in good operating condition, the report will provide confirmation of that. However, in the case where components are not working, the report lets you, the buyer; know the true condition of the RV before you purchase it. This could be the basis for further negotiation with the seller or your backing out of the deal totally.

I have owned Travel Trailers and Motorhomes. Why would I pay MY RV Inspections to conduct an RV inspection? 2017-04-17T22:15:34+00:00

We provide an experienced, unbiased and impartial inspection. Buyers are often looking at the aesthetics of the RV to determine that it will meet their travel and comfort needs. The excitement of purchasing a new (to the buyer) RV can lead the buyer to overlook the obvious and hidden condition of the RV. We inspect each RV using our inspection checklist in a methodical and detached manner providing a truly unbiased inspection. Confirming what you believe to be true is a good thing. Finding real or potential problems that you may have overlooked before you buy is even better.

I have found a great RV to buy, but I live a long distance away. How can MY RV Inspections help me? 2016-07-24T08:42:53+00:00

We conduct the inspection and include digital pictures of the RV that are included in the inspection report. Photos of identified problem areas are provided so that you can see first-hand what the RV inspector found.

I have found a great RV. When does MY RV Inspections get involved? 2017-04-17T22:15:34+00:00

It works best if you, the buyer, find the RV you are interested in purchasing and negotiate a price that you are willing to pay based on the assumption that what the seller has represented to you is correct. Make sure that you specify, and put in writing, that the deal is contingent on an inspection from an independent inspector of your choice to confirm what the seller has represented to be true.

Be clear about what you expect and get it in writing. We will inspect the RV using the detailed inspection checklist. The inspection report will identify in detail the current state of the RV. After the inspection is completed, report reviewed and pictures analyzed, you then decide how to proceed. If what you expected was confirmed to be true, you can buy with more confidence. If the inspection finds issues that concern you, then you have alternatives. You can renegotiate the purchase price based on the inspection report or you can request the seller to fix the items that concern you or you can walk away from the deal.

How much does an RV inspection cost? 2016-07-24T08:41:45+00:00

The cost varies depending on which of the 3 levels of inspection, the number of fluid samples being requested, the type of RV being inspected and the location of the RV. The final pricing is determined at contract execution time.

How long will the RV inspection take? 2017-04-17T22:15:34+00:00

A full inspection will take between 6 and 8 hours, depending on the type of unit and features. When possible, it is helpful to have the seller/owner available to move or remove any items necessary to complete the inspection, but it is not a requirement. We also encourage the client to be available to see the inspection and to discuss preliminary results of the inspection upon completion.